‘BJP to declare candidates soon, workers favour sitting MPs’

BJP_Uttarakhand_Ajay_bhattAverring that the Bharatiya Janata Party will retain the five Lok Sabha seats in the coming elections, the party’s State president Ajay Bhatt said that the BJP parliamentary committee will announce the names of party candidates in the near future. He also said that there is support in the party for fielding sitting MPs. Interacting the party office bearers and workers of Kumaon region here on Monday, Bhatt exhorted them to put in united effort in the elections. Later, while talking to media persons, he said that the workers of the party are in favour of the sitting MPs contesting the elections this time too. However, the party’s parliamentary committee has to take the final call on the selection of candidates. Stating that there will be a repeat of the 2014 Lok Sabha poll scenario in Uttarakhand with the party winning from all the five parliamentary constituencies, he opined that this time the BJP would win more seats across the nation than it had won in the previous election. Stating that the BJP rehearses like the army does during peace time, he said that the party has completed its preparations for the parliamentary polls. It should be mentioned here that the sitting BJP MPs include three ex-chief ministers Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri from Garhwal, Bhagat Singh Koshyari from Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ from Haridwar along with Ajay Tamta from Almora and Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah from Tehri constituencies. Tuesday, 12 March 2019 | PNS | Haldwani

Poll committee to meet in Doon today

The Bharatiya Janata Party election management committee will hold its meeting at the party’s State office here on Tuesday. The party’s Uttarakhand Lok Sabha election in-charge and union minister Thaawar Chand Gehlot along with other central and state leaders of the party will be attending this meeting in Dehradun. The BJP state media in-charge Devendra Bhasin informed that in view of the Lok Sabha polls, the meeting of the party’s state election management committee will be held from 11 AM on Tuesday. The party’s state president Ajay Bhatt will preside over the meeting. It will be attended by the party’s state Lok Sabha election in-charge Thaawar Chand Gehlot, national vice president and party state in-charge Shyam Jaju, national joint general secretary (organisation) Shiv Prakash and Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat among other leaders. Necessary plan of action for the parliamentary polls will be deliberated upon and important decisions will also be taken in the meeting considering the fact that polling in Uttarakhand is to be held in the first phase, added Bhasin. Tuesday, 12 March 2019 | PNS | Dehradun

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button