Electric buses start operation on ISBT-Rajpur route

The operation of electric buses under the smart city project began in Dehradun on Sunday. Chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat flagged off the five buses which will operate on the ISBT to Rajpur route in the initial stage. Speaking on the occasion, Rawat said that this was a good start under the smart city project. The operation of electric buses will help reduce pollution while also providing a convenient commute to the citizens.

According to officials, the bus service from ISBT to Rajpur will halt at 32 stoppages with each of these located at a distance of about 490 metres apart. The stoppages include Shimla bypass, Majra, ITI Niranjanpur, Sabzi Mandi Chowk, Patelnagar police station, Lalpul, PNB Patelnagar, Matawala Bagh, Saharanpur Chowk, Railway Station, Prince Chowk, Cyber police station, Tehsil Chowk, Darshanlal Chowk, Clock Tower, Gandhi Park, Saint Joseph’s Academy, secretariat, Bahal Chowk, Dilaram Chowk,Madhuban Hotel, Ajanta Chowk, Survey of India, NIVH front gate, Jakhan, Pacific Mall, Inder Baba Marg, Mussoorie diversion, Sai temple and Tehri House/GRD institution.

It is pertinent to mention here that a total of 30 electric buses will be operated in Dehradun as part of the smart city project. The main purpose behind this is to encourage public transport while providing good service at low rates to the public with buses that help check air and noise pollution. The 25-seater bus also has space for placing a wheelchair and a hydraulic ramp for the differently abled. The air-conditioned bus is equipped with a GPS, three CCTV cameras, ITS display, variable message display, USB port for each seat, emergency button and hammer along with other features. On a full charge, the bus can cover a distance of 150 to 180 kilometres. The fare for the e-bus service is Rs 10 for the first four kilometres, Rs 15 for four to seven kilometres, Rs 20 for seven to 10 kilometres, Rs 25 for 10 to 13 kilometres, Rs 30 for 13 to 17 kilometres, Rs 35 for 17 to 21 kilometres, Rs 40 for 21 to 25 kilometres, Rs 45 for 25 to 30 kilometres, Rs 50 for 30 to 35 kilometres and Rs 55 for more than 35 kilometres.

Tehri MP Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah, Dehradun mayor Sunil Uniyal ‘Gama’, MLAs Vinod Chamoli, Harbans Kapoor, Ganesh Joshi and Dehradun Smart City Limited CEO Ashish Kumar Srivastava were also among those present on the occasion. 

Monday, 22 February 2021 | PNS | Dehradun

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button